Forum

VICTORY: You Can No...
 
Notifications
Clear all

VICTORY: You Can Now Make Your Venmo Friends List Private. Here’s How.


shane
(@shane)
Member Admin
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 166
Topic starter  
 
image

It took two and a half years and one national security incident, but Venmo did it, folks: users now have privacy settings to hide their friends lists.

EFF first pointed out the problem with Venmo friends lists in early 2019 with our "Fix It Already" campaign. While Venmo offered a setting to make your payments and transactions private, there was no option to hide your friends list. No matter how many settings you tinkered with, Venmo would show your full friends list to anyone else with a Venmo account. That meant an effectively public record of the people you exchange money with regularly, along with whoever the app might have automatically imported from your phone contact list or even your Facebook friends list. The only way to make a friends list “private” was to manually delete friends one at a time; turn off auto-syncing; and, when the app wouldn’t even let users do that, monitor for auto-populated friends and remove them one by one, too.

This public-no-matter-what friends list design was a privacy disaster waiting to happen, and it happened to the President of the United States. Using the app’s search tool and all those public friends lists, Buzzfeed News found President Biden’s account in less than 10 minutes, as well as those of members of the Biden family, senior staffers, and members of Congress.  This appears to have been the last straw for Venmo: after more than two years of effectively ignoring calls from EFF, Mozilla, and others, the company has finally started to roll out privacy settings for friends lists.

As we’ve noted before, this is the bare minimum. Providing more privacy settings options so users can opt-out of the publication of their friends list is a step in the right direction. But what Venmo—and any other payment app—must do next is make privacy the default for transactions and friends lists, not just an option buried in the settings.

In the meantime, follow these steps to lock down your Venmo account:

  1. Tap the three lines in the top right corner of your home screen and select Settings near the bottom. From the settings screen, select Privacy and then Friends List. (If the Friends List option does not appear, try updating your app, restarting it, or restarting your phone.
       

  2. The settings will look like this by default.

  3. Change the privacy setting to Private. If you do not wish to appear in your friends’ own friends lists—after all, they may not set theirs to private—click the toggle off at the bottom. The final result should look like this.

  4. Back on the Privacy settings page, make sure your Default privacy settings look like this: set your default privacy option for all future payments to Private.

  5. Now select Past Transactions.

  6. Select Change All to Private.

  7. Confirm the change and click Change to Private.

  8. Now go all the way back to the main settings page, and select Friends & social.

  9. From here, you may see options to unlink your Venmo account from your Facebook account, Facebook friends list, and phone contact list. (Venmo may not give you all of these options if, for example, you originally signed up for Venmo with your Facebook account.) Click all the toggles off if possible.

    Obviously your specific privacy preferences are up to you, but following the steps above should protect you from the most egregious snafus that the company has caused over the years with its public-by-default—or entirely missing— privacy settings. Although it shouldn't take a national security risk to force a company to focus on privacy, we're glad that Venmo has finally, at last, years later, provided friends list privacy options


Quote